AAUW: Empowering Women Since 1881

The Branch Line

New Officers to Be Installed at May 1st Meeting

Denton Branch members will vote on officers for the 2013 -2015 biennium at the May 1st meeting, which will be held at The Chestnut Tree restaurant on the square in Denton. The meeting will begin at 6 p.m.

The Nominations Committee recommends the following slate of officers:

President: Shirley LaCroix Vice President:

Connie Martinez

Secretary: Laura Hanson Treasurer: Ruth Johnson Newsletter: Lynda Murphy Patsy Roe has agreed to continue bringing Public Policy information to the meetings.

Our speaker will be Dr.
Sharla Snider, Professor of
Early Childhood Education at
Texas Woman's University.
Dr. Snider had planned to
address our April meeting
but had to reschedule. Dr.
Snider's research interests
include the impact of
emerging technologies on
the growth and development
of the young child.

As a recipient of an AAUW Research Grant, Dr. Snider will share her experiences with us.



Dr. Sharla Snider

President's Corner

Thank
you for
the opportunity
to serve
the

AAUW Denton Branch. It has been a pleasure and I appreciate the time and commitment of the officers and members that have made this time memorable.

Thank you, Stephany

Denton Branch would like to thank Stephany and all the Branch officers for their leadership and service over the past four years.

May Menu

- > Chicken Pot Pie or Vegetarian Pot Pie
- Springtime Salad with choice of Ranch or Basil Vinaignette Dressing
- > Lemon Pound Cake with fresh Raspberries
- > Coffee, Tea, water

| Inside this issue: | |
|----------------------|---|
| One Member, One Vote | 2 |
| Interbranch Council | 2 |
| Member Awards | 3 |
| Membership News | 3 |

One Member, One Vote



Malinda Gaul

AAUW National Online voting is open April 15, 2013, through 9 p.m. CDT, June 10, 2013. To vote, go to http:// www.aauw.org/resource/ one-member-one-vote/ #.UXW7eilbfvY.gmaiabilenel

You will need your member ID and voter PIN as listed on the label of your Spring/Summer AAUW Dutlook. Information was also emailed to members on April 8.

If you are unable to locate

either document, please contact connect@aauw.org.

We have two Texas candidates, Kathy Anthon and Malinda Gaul, and a Texas past president, Pat Ross, in

> the running, all of whom would be areat AAUW Directors. Pat currently resides in Florida.



Kathy Anthon

All the information you need is in the latest issue of Dutlook.

Interbranch Council Hosts Planned Parenthood Speaker

Patricia Ross

Planned Parenthood of **Greater Texas is** the eighth largest **Planned** Parenthood affiliate in the nation, providing reproductive services to approximately 100,000 people a year.

Interbranch Council will meet Saturday, May 4th, at the NewNew Buffet, 3822 Beltline Road, in Addison. It is located on the southeast corner of Marsh Lane and Beltline. The meeting will begin at 11:15 a.m. and will finish about 1:00 p.m.

Attendees are encouraged to stay for lunch and conversation following the meeting. The buffet is \$9.99 plus tax and has a large variety of Chinese items as well as sushi.

Our speaker will be Kelly Hart, Senior Director of Government Relations. Planned Parenthood of Greater Texas (PPGT).

PPGT is the eighth largest Planned Parenthood affiliate in the nation, providing reproductive health care and education services to approximately 100,000 people a year.

PPGT's Public Affairs Department advocates for every person's right to comprehensive, confidential reproductive health care and works in cooperation with supporters to maintain and increase access to these services.

Kelly has a bachelor's degree in government from the University of Texas in Austin and a graduate degree in

public health from the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health. She has been with the agency for more than 10 years, starting as a Family Planning Assistant in the Garland Health Center.

All AAUW members and guests are invited to attend.



Kelly Hart

Congratulations to Dr. Sarah McIntire and Dr. Laura Hanson

Two Denton Branch members were honored at Texas
Woman's University's annual
Honors Convocation, held
April 18, in Margo Jones
Performance Hall on TWU's
Denton campus. Dr. Laura
Hanson, Assistant Professor
of Biology, received the Mary
Mason Lyon Award, and Dr.
Sarah McIntire, Professor



Dr. Laura Hanson

and Chair of the Department of Biology, received the Humphries Award.

Two Mary Mason Lyon Awards for Distinguished Junior Faculty, named for the founder of Mount Holyoke, the first woman's college in the U.S (1837), are presented annually to recognize TWU junior faculty members who are developing excellent records of teaching, research, and service, and who evidence dedication to their careers and promise for success in the future. Recipients must have served at TWU for at least three years, but not more than seven, as of

September 1, 2012.

The Humphries Award is presented to TWU faculty who have, through their loyalty and actions, proved to be a model to all and a treasure to TWU. To be eligible, a recipient must have served at least ten years at TWU, as of September 1, 2012.

Congratulations, Laura and Sarah.



Dr. Sarah McIntire

Membership News: Give a Free Membership to AAUW

Do you know someone graduating from college this May or June?
Whether undergraduate, graduate, or postgraduate, give a graduate a FREE AAUW membership by completing the Give-a-Grad-a-Gift online formhttp://www.aauw.org/resource/give-a-grad-a-gift/ — at no cost to you!

For current Branch members, it is time to renew your National, State, and Branch AAUW membership. Dues are \$70. which includes \$49 for National, \$10 for State, and \$11 for Branch.
Additional donations may be made to the local
Scholarship Fund, Legal
Advocacy Fund, and / or the Educational Foundation. Our Branch goal is to donate \$25 to the Educational Foundation and \$5 to the Legal Advocacy Fund per member.

Please remit your dues by June 1, 2013.

Give a graduate a FREE

AAUW membership by

completing the Give-aGrad-a-Gift online

form<http://
www.aauw.org/resource/
give-a-grad-a-gift/> — at

no cost to you!

