The American Association of University Women was established in 1881 to “open doors of higher education to women.”

                                          Introducing our 2017-2018 Scholarship Recipients!
Sanjuana Banda is a Senior at UNT majoring in Interdisciplinary Art and Design Studies with plans to seek a position as an Art Director in an advertising agency upon graduation.   She holds the Associate Degree from Houston Community College, which she completed while in High School, and will graduate from UNT at the end of the Fall semester.  She has maintained a 3.4 grade point average in her studies.  She has been the recipient of the Multicultural Scholastic Award and the Emerald Eagle Scholarship from UNT and the Pan American Round Table Houston Scholarship.  She is a member of the Advertising Club and the American Advertisement Federation. She has had experience working in the Houston Museum of Natural Science where she to train new employees.  As for Community Service, she has worked for a number of years with the Baker Ripley Community Center in Houston, Texas.
Jennifer Duncan is a Master’s student at TWU majoring in Molecular Biology and plans to graduate in May 2018. She has completed two years in TWU’s graduate school and will continue on after the Master’s to complete her doctorate by 2020.  She has maintained a 3.727 on her work at TWU.  During her first year and a half in graduate school, she taught Molecular Biology and fundamentals of Biology for the undergraduate labs.  She has worked with the members of the Denton Branch of AAUW’s Expanding your Horizons event for middle school girls.  She loves to do research and has been studying proteins and their relationship to the understanding of how genes are turned on, all of which has direct implications in cellular diseases such as cancer.  She has presented her research locally at the TWU Research and Creative Arts Symposium and in Houston at the Texas Genetics Society.Sarah Edwards is beginning this fall in the UNT College of Pharmacy in Fort Worth to work toward the Doctor of Pharmacy degree.  She holds the Associates Degree from Navarro College, which she completed while in High School, and the Bachelor of Science Degree in Chemistry with a minor in Biology from UNT.  She has maintained a 3.95 grade point average in her studies.  Her leadership skills began developing in high school where she became Vice President of the Student Council, President of the National Honors Society, and Secretary of the Interact Club and was selected by Rotary to attend their Rotary Youth Leadership Camp.  She has held jobs while in college which helped her gain skills in communication and leadership including at UNT where she recently tutored athletes, worked as a Teaching Assistant for a biology laboratory course, and worked in the financial aid center.  She is a member of Alpha Lambda Delta and Gamma Beta Phi.  She has served as Vice President of the LoPD (League of Pokemon Trainers).  Her community service may be seen in her work for Boys & Girls Club, Hidden Miracles, Kids Against Hunger, Master Gardener’s Expo and the Nicholas P. Sims Library. She is aspiring to continue gaining leadership roles in pharmacy school, which include being a part of the class officers, Phi Delta Chi, and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.

Karen Meacham is a Senior at TWU with a double major in Nutrition and Biology with plans to graduate in May 2018. Upon completing the Bachelor’s Degree, she will begin a dietetic internship which will enable her to qualify to take the Registered Dietitian licensure exam.   While completing her internship she plans to work on a coordinated Master’s Degree in public health nutrition.  She has a 3.95 grade point average in her studies.  She has held many leadership roles throughout her college years.  At Tarrant County College she served as president of the Student Dietetic Organization and the Omega Delta chapter of Sigma Kappa Delta as well as co-chair of the Honors in Action committee for the Beta Delta Omicron chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.  At TWU she has served as president of the Food and Nutrition Network and vice president of the Texas Student Dietetic Association. Some of her works were published in The Compass (campus literary and arts magazine), and she presented papers at two conventions of the Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society. 


Eligibility requirements and Applications 

            Applications must be postmarked no later than April 1, 2018, to be considered for the   2018-2019 Scholarship.

TWU, UNT, and NCTC students:

  1. Send Applications to Ms. Elizabeth Snapp, 2212 Jefferson Trail, Denton, Texas 76205.
  2. Contact Ms. Elizabeth Snapp at 940-323-8078 or by e-mail if you have any questions.

NOTE:  To get information about other fellowships and grants available from the AAUW Educational Foundation write directly to AAUW Educational Foundation, 1111 Sixteenth Street N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036-4873 or call 202-728-7603.




2017-2018 Scholarship Recipients
Karen Meacham, TWU Senior, Double Major in Nutrition and Biology
Jennifer Duncan, TWU Graduate student, Molecular Biology
Sanjuana Banda, UNT Senior, Interdisciplinary Art and Design Studies
Sarah Edwards , UNT Ft. Worth College of Pharmacy, Doctor of Pharmacy

2016-2017 Scholarship Recipients
Tawney O LeBouef Tullia, TWU Doctoral Student, Rhetoric
Margaret Goetsch, TWU Senior, Music Therapy
Mindy Le, UNT Senior, Hospitality Management, Merchandising and Digital Retailing
Krystin Rodriguez, UNT Junior, International Studies

2015-2016 Scholarship Recipients
Brittney Buckhanan, TWU Senior, Accounting
Alexandra Jeffcoat, TWU Senior, Women’s Studies & Sociology
Yanxia Jiang, UNT Junior, Accounting
Courtney Medvedev, UNT Master’s Student, Public Affairs & Community Service

2014-2015 Scholarship Recipients
Jennifer Roland, TWU Graduate Student, Women’s Studies
Lola Obamehinti, UNT Graduate Student, Information Science
Tamiel Turley, TWU Undergraduate Student, Biology
Thao Huynh, UNT Undergraduate Student, Violin Performance & Biology

2011-2012 Scholarship Recipients
Frances Reanea McNeal, TWU Graduate Student, Women’s Studies
Elisha Jean Heiden, UNT Graduate Student, English
Sarah Folkening, TWU Undergraduate Student, Music Therapy
Danielle Vincent, UNT Undergraduate Student, Psychology

2010-2011 Scholarship Recipients
Alyson Temple-Lozada, TWU Graduate Student, Physical Therapy
Giovanni N. Dortch, UNT Graduate Student, Sociology
Jessica Huynh, TWU Undergraduate, Social Work

2009-2010 Scholarship Recipients
Rachel Zimmerman, TWU Graduate Student, Physical Therapy
Brittany DeNoon, UNT Graduate Student, Women’s Studies
Cassi Samples, TWU Undergraduate Student, Dance
Kelly Bevin Butler, UNT Undergraduate Student, History

2008-2009 Scholarship Recipients
Shelley Padilla, TWU Graduate Student, Dance
Kristina Morales, UNT Graduate Student, Women’s Studies
Mercedalia Reyes, TWU Undergraduate Student, Early Childhood Bilingual Education
Skyler Wilk, UNT Undergraduate Student, History

2006-2007 Scholarship Recipients
Jeannhenriette Mam, TWU Graduate Student, Dance
Jennifer Roe, UNT Graduate Student, American and British Literature
Angela M. Binder, TWU Undergraduate Student, Biology
Ruby Roxanne Al–Qasem, UNT Undergraduate, English, Creative Writing

Scholarship Committee Chair: Elizabeth Snapp